The History of Fire Island

Fire Island’s roots date back to 1653, when Isaac Stratford constructed a whaling station on the Island, naming it Whalehouse Point. Similar to Nantucket, Fire Island was originally founded as an important whaling center during the 18th and 19th centuries.

Fire Island’s next development came in 1825 when the Federal government constructed the Fire Island Lighthouse at western tip of the Island.The Fire Island Light was an important landmark for transatlantic ships coming into New York Harbor at the turn of the century. For many European immigrants, the Fire Island Lighthouse was their first sight of land upon arrival to America. This guiding light serves as the trademark of Fire Island and still stands as both a landmark and a museum.

Real Estate boomed in the 1950′s and Fire Island emerged as the premier bohemian summer retreat. Newly established beach bungalows lit up with creative New Yorkers. Over the next ten years, the landscape became a collage of rooftops where the rich and famous were able to escape the busy streets of New York City and soak in the sun.

Today, Fire Island is one of the chicest places to have a beach house. It remains popular among artists, actors, and musicians. The car-free, pastoral, beach getaway is a truly unique summer destination. We’re proud to state that Fire Island has never succumbed to the commercialism and class distinction that haunts the Hampton’s.

Courtesy of


The Seal Island (former name) Legend

1938 NY Time Article on Robert Moses Road Plan

June 1962 NY Time Article on Udall vs. Moses

1962 NYTimes Article on Robert Moses Road Hearing